Ga door naar hoofdinhoud
Help

Deze versie is geschreven door: colleenthompson ,

Tekst:

-I actually used that MacOSX Hints tip to re-associate a TM backup to an upgraded HD. The backup files have an imbedded UUID (unique identifier) so they know exactly what drive they're backing up to.
+I actually used a similar MacOSX Hints tip to re-associate a TM backup to an upgraded HD. The backup files have an imbedded UUID (unique identifier) so they know exactly what drive they're backing up. It appears TM recognizes the MAC address of the computer also.
After fiddling around with that, though I eventually got it working, I decided that in future it's just easier to let the backups start over again, and eventually delete the old backup.
This applies to USB-connected TM drives, not Time Capsules, which use a sparseimage to store the backup, and is probably more complicated to tweak, if it's possible at all. In that case I would definitely let the backups start fresh.

Status:

open

Bewerkt door: colleenthompson ,

Tekst:

I actually used that MacOSX Hints tip to re-associate a TM backup to an upgraded HD. The backup files have an imbedded UUID (unique identifier) so they know exactly what drive they're backing up to.
-After fiddling around with that, I decided it's just easier to let the backups start over again, and eventually delete the old backup.
+After fiddling around with that, though I eventually got it working, I decided that in future it's just easier to let the backups start over again, and eventually delete the old backup.
-This applies to USB-connected TM drives, not Time Capsules, which use a sparseimage to store the backup, and is probably more complicated to tweak, if it's possible at all.
+This applies to USB-connected TM drives, not Time Capsules, which use a sparseimage to store the backup, and is probably more complicated to tweak, if it's possible at all. In that case I would definitely let the backups start fresh.

Status:

open

Origineel bericht door: colleenthompson ,

Tekst:

I actually used that MacOSX Hints tip to re-associate a TM backup to an upgraded HD. The backup files have an imbedded UUID (unique identifier) so they know exactly what drive they're backing up to.

After fiddling around with that, I decided it's just easier to let the backups start over again, and eventually delete the old backup.

This applies to USB-connected TM drives, not Time Capsules, which use a sparseimage to store the backup, and is probably more complicated to tweak, if it's possible at all.

Status:

open